Eastern Mediterranean BioProvince

This BioProvince (as defined by Armen Takhtajan) includes part of southern Albania, most of peninsular Greece, Evvia, Peloponnesus, the Ionian Islands, islands of the Aegean Sea, Crete, Karpathos, Cyprus, the Gallipoli Peninsula, the northern shores of the Sea of Marmara, the coasts of Syria, Lebanon and Palestine. A few enclaves also occur around the Black Sea shores of Anatolia. The geology is complex while the climate is typically Mediterranean with mild rainy winters and dry, hot summers. The flora comprises over 20 endemic genera including Aaronsohnia, Astoma, Bolanthus, Chaetosciadium, Cytisopsis, Didesmus, Dorystoechas, Gonocytisus, Horstrissea, Hymenonema, Lindbergella, Lycochloa, Lyrolepis, Microsciadium, Ochthodium, Petromarula, Procopiania, Synelcosciadium, Thurya and Trochocodon, and a multitude of endemic species.

The following accounts for this BioProvince have been written or will be written with particular reference to endemic and locally important species. Accounts available are displayed in green or yellow. Those displayed in red are either in the pipeline or awaiting expert contributions.


Major Ecosystems
Endemic Vascular Plant Flora
Endemic Flora (Crete)
Endemic Flora (Cyprus)
Endemic Flora (Evvia)
Endemic Flora (Israel)
Bryophyte Flora
Fungus Flora
Lichen Flora
Invertebrate Fauna
Amphibian Fauna
Reptile Fauna
Bird Fauna
Mammal Fauna
Conservation Status


Ranunculus cadmicus var. cyprius (Ranunculaceae) one of the many plants endemic to Cyprus (Copyright © 2010 Peter Martin Rhind).